Volume XXIX, Issue 20
May 18, 2020
View this email in your browser
ALS Services Update

Currently Operating
  • Mail-A-Book - in full operation
  • ALS Online Resources - all are operational
  • ALS Office - phones and emails answered during regular hours: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm Mon-Fri

Postponed Until Further Notice
  • Bookmobile - not running
  • ILL - not being distributed
  • ALS On-Site Trainings - check the website or call for future schedule
  • All Legacy Events are postponed
MOLLIE'S MUSINGS

Communities Are Working to Reach Kids With No Books At Home

Minnesota Author Project:
- Adult & Young Adult Fiction
- Communities Create contest.
Quick Links

ALS Blog

ALS Calendar


Legacy Blog

Minnesota Libraries Calendar

Digital Public Library
DIRECTOR'S DECREE

Independent book stores find path to survival during virus outbreak

Tom Jorgenson, Dakota County Library, named LJ Movers & Shakers 2020–Educators

Reopening Resources from MDE
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR'S CORNER

Staff Preparedness Training 
from Swan Library Services


Linking Our Libraries
Podcast Classes

 
>> FREE <<

ORDER BY MAY 26TH

TO GET FREE MATERIALS

for your

2020 SUMMER READING PROGRAM

 
ALS Member Libraries Eligible for
2020 Summer Reading Program

 
The 2020 "Dig Deeper: Read, Investigate, Discover" Summer Reading Program activity booklets, coloring booklets, activity punch cards, and general reading logs are ready for ordering!  These materials are free for ALS public libraries. 

We have the following items available:
  • Coloring Booklets
  • Reading Logs
  • Summer Activity Punch Cards
  • School Age Youth Activity Booklets
Please let us know how many of each you need by completing the survey HERE.

The deadline to submit the survey is Tuesday, May 26, 2020,
but feel free to fill out ASAP as we want to make sure you have the materials you need for your programs or for school distribution and partnerships.
APPLY FOR $750 REIMBURSEMENT

TO SUPPORT YOUR 

SUMMER READING PROGRAM

 

Available Summer Reading Program Support Fund

Each ALS Member Public Library can receive reimbursement
of $750

APPLY HERE


 
Examples of reimbursable summer reading expenditures include:
  • Creating and distributing “Star Reader” yard signs, bumper stickers and/or window clings

  • Assembling “Make & Take” craft/activity bags

  • Hiring a local author or presenter for Facebook Live/YouTube online programs

  • Purchasing an online summer reading tracking system (example: Beanstack) 

  • Supplementing postage budget for direct summer reading program mailings

  • Designing story strolls for outdoor programs

  • Buying books for One Book One Community program for patrons

  • Personalized ALS Print Shop materials


Thanks for reading together, Minnesota, now meet the author! Kate DiCamillo will host a statewide virtual discussion about her book Because of Winn-Dixie, the first featured title in our statewide bookclub One Book | One Minnesota. 
Wednesday, May 20 | 1:00 p.m.
Zoom | Free | Registration required

10-year-old girl and her dad write novel during
COVID-19 crisis to raise money for Feeding America

For $10 donation to Feeding America,
you will receive the e-book, “Darien the Librarian.” 
It’s a thriller about a girl who can magically jump in and out of books. With a focus on strong girls, it's a middle-grade fantasy novel,
in the vein of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. 

Read the full article from WCVB-5 ABC with this LINK.


RESOURCES, INFORMATION & LINKS
Read Along

a free Google app
that helps young children practice reading


Google’s speech recognition and text-to-speech functions help elementary school students practice their reading skills and stay educationally engaged amid school closures due to coronavirus.

As kids read aloud, Diya, the built-in reading assistant, detects if the child is struggling with a passage and can jump in with positive reinforcement or help. At any time, the child can ask Diya to help them read a sentence or pronounce a word they don’t know.

As children progress in the app, they’re presented with mini word games and earn in-app prizes as they improve their skills.



Read the TechCrunch
article HERE
.

Get the app on
Google Play HERE.
CareerForce is working to help connect Minnesota employers
with the workers they need during the COVID-19 crisis.
Click HERE for more information.

Finding kids' magazines in ELM

A blog article to help you direct young patrons to appropriate magazines.


Sign up for their newsletter, blog and trainings by clicking above.
This month, libraries are still operating largely remotely. We offer you a piece by Nick Dean on what comes next for libraries. Also check out TechSoup's new COVID resources and of course our astonishing newsbytes for May.
PLEXIGLASS SHIELDS & BARRIERS
You Can Make
by Silver Bay Public Library


    
GRANTS, AWARDS & CONTESTS

2020 Arrowhead Library System Mini Grants Available

Grants are open to all ALS member public, school, academic
and special libraries in the ALS seven-county service area
40 mini grants of up to $250 are available in 2020.
The application deadline is November 13, 2020.

Find the grant application HERE.
More information on the entire grant process is HERE.
You can look at previous grant recipients HERE.
LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES
 <> FREE <>
“Distance Learning in Elementary Grades”
with special guest Kristi Eckdahl, hosted by Mary Mehsikomer
from Sourcewell Technology
Wednesday, May 20 at 1:00 pm
Free -- Register HERE


Thursday, May 21st from 1:00-2:00 pm Central
Register HERE.

ALA Connect Live: COVID-19 and the Well-being of Library Workers

Thursday, May 21st from 1:30-2:30 pm Central by Zoom. 

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar and an option to add the webinar to your calendar. Submit questions for the Executive Board in advance or post your questions in the chat box during the event.

REGISTER NOW!

Introduction to Mindfulness:
Nourishing Ourselves in These Times

May 27th at 1:00 pm CT

In light of the COVID crisis, this Zoom presentation blends learning, participant sharing and brief practices: straw breathing, gentle stretching, guided meditation, silent sit and gratitude. Emphasis is on strengthening our collective immune system.  Sign up HERE.
MALF Webinar - Friends Leadership Cultivation
Wednesday, June 10 from 1:00 – 3:00 p.m.


Nonprofits of all types struggle to recruit would-be leaders, but Friends organizations are particularly familiar with that challenge.  The webinar is free to attend but advance registration is required by June 3rd. Register HERE.
LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES
 > > NOT FREE < <
Brand Touchpoints: All the Stuff & All the Staff
Thursday, May 28th from 1:00 - 2:00 PM CDT
Registration fee: $49/person.
Ask us about group rates for parties of 4 or more (email jenny@libraryworks.com)
Register HERE. from LibraryWorks
A 90-minute workshop, Wednesday, June 17, 2020, 1:30pm Central

$60.00 registration for ALA members

Join veteran storyteller Kathy MacMillan to explore the fundamental differences between online and in-person storytimes and best practices to bring early literacy programming into an online environment.


An online event with educational programming,
special author events, and social networking.

June 24-26, 2020


Due to the generous support of our ALA Virtual sponsors,
ALA Members can register now for only $60.
Register HERE. 
Pinterest
Facebook
Website
Copyright © 2020 Arrowhead Library System, All rights reserved.
To receive future Weekly Weeders please email als@alslib.info

Our mailing address is:
Arrowhead Library System
5528 Emerald Ave
Mountain Iron, Minnesota 55768-2069

Add us to your address book


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp