Published periodically for the
faculty and staff of the School of Engineering
View this email in your browser

Vision Awards 2019

The University of Dayton School of Engineering Vision Awards honor four faculty and staff members for their outstanding contributions to the School of Engineering.  The 2019 awardees have gone above and beyond in their work in the following categories: innovation, excellence, community and engagement/service.

The 2019 Vision Award winners include: Rebecca Blust, director of the Innovation Center; Heather Juhascik, KEEN Program Coordinator; Kevin Hallinan, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering; and Christopher Muratore, associate professor of chemical and materials engineering.  

Read more about the Vision Award Winners here.

Years of Service Awards

Congratulations to faculty and staff celebrating milestone anniversaries. 

This year twelve faculty and staff members celebrated five years of service: Liz Mancini, Shawnee Breitenstein, Mohammadjafar Esmaeili, Joshua Heyne, Allison Kinney, Ramani Vijayan, Judith Butts, Robyn Bradford-Vialva, Eddy Rojas, Chris Yakopcic, Ghada Abourjeili, and Cullen Bradley.  

Nine celebrated 10 years: Michelle Strunks, Teri Stemley, Ömer Bilgin, Tarek Taha, Mikhail Vorontsov, Nan Holler-Potter, Kim Bigelow, and Rose Eckerle.  

Four celebrated 15 years: Amber Rockey, Eunsung Shin, Scott Schneider and Beth Hart.  

Two celebrated 20 years: Robert Wilkens and Michael Green.  

Two celebrated 25 years: Edna Hickey and Reza Kashani. 

Finally, Dave Myszka, associate professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, celebrated 30 years at UD.  Vinod Jain, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering and director of graduate programs, celebrated an amazing 40 years at UD.

Congratulations to all!

Partha Banerjee Receives Prestigious
Holoknight Award

Professor and department chair of electro-optics and photonics, Partha Banerjee, was inducted into The International Order of Holoknights, an elite group of holographers from around the world.

Read more about the award here.

Margie and Bill Klesse Gift $5M to Fund Scholarships

University of Dayton alumni Margie and Bill Klesse have donated $5 million to fund scholarships and research opportunities in science and engineering for high-achieving students with financial need.  The Margie and Bill Klesse Scholars Program will fund undergraduate scholarships in engineering.

Read more about their donation here.

ETHOS Student Brad Hripko Combines Summer Programs to Advance His Research

Mechanical engineering student, Brad Hripko, participated in two University of Dayton summer programs for undergraduate research: the Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE) Program and the ETHOS International Immersion Program. 
Check out Brad’s story here.

Copyright © 2019 University of Dayton School of Engineering, All rights reserved.