Copy
View this email in your browser

Welcome to 2021

Gday fellow Tennyson Dunes Group volunteers and welcome to 2021.

As you may know, some of our volunteers have been missing out on my regular email notifications about upcoming workdays, so I've decided to introduce this new email server in an effort to get to everyone's inbox.

I'll still continue to send regular reminders about workdays, but they will now be in this new format.

I certainly hope it solves the previous email problems that've plagued us.
nursery propagation

Propagation Workday - Sun 17 Jan

Thank you to everyone who helped at the previous propagation and watering days this month.  With your dedicated efforts watering the plants from last year's revegetation, they now have a good chance of survival.

Just a reminder that our upcoming Tennyson Dunes Group workday will be at the Valerie Wales Community Coastal Nursery in Atkin St, Henley Beach, located here, on Sunday 17th January, 9:30-11:30am.

We will propagate more dune plants for this year's revegetation in the dunes.

Remember to bring sun protection, drinking water, enclosed shoes, gardening gloves and a dust mask if you have one.

We will also have another watering day on Monday 25th January, 9:30-11:30am, meeting at the Tennyson Heights Ct beach walkway here.  Please wear sun protection, long pants and sleeves and enclosed shoes and bring drinking water.
Blue Banded Bee on Pelargonium australe

Native Bees at our AGM - Sun 21 Feb

The Tennyson Dunes Group Inc. Annual General Meeting was delayed due to COVID, however it is now scheduled for Sunday 21st February, 2-3:30pm, at the Henley and Grange Community Centre, 196A Military Rd, Henley Beach, located here.

This year we have a fantastic speaker lined up for you - Dr Katja Hogendoorn - Native Bees in the Dunes.

Keep the date free and an eye out for further information to follow.

All are welcome, including non-members.

St Kilda Mangroves need your help

You may have seen in the media the devastation occurring at the St Kilda mangroves and saltmarsh right now.  Hundreds of hectares are dead or dying due to acid and brine leaking from the salt ponds.

You can lend your support by signing the petition here, calling on the government to intervene and also help map the extent of the dieback at the Citizen Science Mangrove Survey at St Kilda Mangrove Boardwalk on Wednesday 27th January at 10am.

Check out SaveStKildaMangroves for more information.  The videos are quite shocking.
dead mangroves and saltmarsh at St Kilda

2021 Workday Dates

The schedule for our 2021 Workdays is as follows (subject to change).  Meeting times are 9:30-11:30am during Summer months and 10am-12pm at other times, unless otherwise mentioned.

Tue 5th Jan - watering - meet at the Tennyson Heights walkway
Thur 7th Jan - propagation - Valerie Wales Community Coastal Nursery
Sun 17th Jan - propagation - Valerie Wales Community Coastal Nursery
Mon 25th Jan - watering - meet at the Tennyson Heights walkway
Thur 4th Feb - propagation - Valerie Wales Community Coastal Nursery
Sun 21st Feb - propagation - Valerie Wales Community Coastal Nursery
Sun 21st Feb - AGM - 2-3:30pm at the Henley and Grange Community Centre
Thur 4th Mar - propagation - Valerie Wales Community Coastal Nursery
Sun 21st Mar - weeding - Tennyson Dunes
Thur 1st Apr - weeding - Tennyson Dunes
Sun 18th Apr - propagation - Valerie Wales Community Coastal Nursery
Thur 6th May - weeding - Tennyson Dunes
Sat 8th May - General Meeting
Sun 16th May - revegetation- Tennyson Dunes
Thur 3rd Jun - revegetation- Tennyson Dunes
Sun 20th Jun - revegetation- Tennyson Dunes
Thur 1st Jul - revegetation- Tennyson Dunes
Sun 18th Jul - weeding - Tennyson Dunes
Thur 5th Aug - weeding - Tennyson Dunes
Sat 7th Aug - General Meeting
Sun 15th Aug - weeding - Tennyson Dunes
Thur 2nd Sep - weeding - Tennyson Dunes
Sun 19th Sep - Tennyson Dunes Open Day
Thur 7th Oct - weeding - Tennyson Dunes
Sun 17th Oct - weeding - Tennyson Dunes
Thur 4th Nov - propagation - Valerie Wales Community Coastal Nursery
Sun 21st Nov - propagation - Valerie Wales Community Coastal Nursery
Thur 2nd Dec - propagation - Valerie Wales Community Coastal Nursery
Sun 12th Dec - propagation and Xmas BBQ - Valerie Wales Community Coastal Nursery
Tennyson Dunes Group Twitter page
Tennyson Dunes Group Facebook page
Tennyson Dunes Group Instagram page
Tennyson Dunes Group Website
Email
Copyright © 2021 Tennyson Dunes Group, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp