View this email in your browser
Illinois Agricultural Leadership Foundation News   
August 30, 2021
IALF Remembers Brian Satorius
    The IALF has lost a wonderful and beloved member of our alumni family, Brian Satorius of Petersburg, Illinois, who died in a tragic farm accident on Friday, August 20th, he was 47.  Brian was a graduate of the IALF Class of 2016 where he developed strong leadership skills and made lifelong friendships.  All who knew him spoke of his warmth, humor and dedication to his family and agriculture.  He leaves a legacy of commitment to the ag industry, as well as his community and the State of Illinois. 
     Brian was dedicated to his family. He and his wife Brianne were married for 14 years and have two children, Ethan (10) and Ava (6). The family spent countless hours enjoying sports and other activities together.
     He was a graduate of PORTA High School and received his Bachelor’s degree from Western Illinois University and Master’s degree from the University of Illinois. Brian not only farmed but served as an engineer for TeeJet Technologies. He was active in the FFA, both as a student and as a member of the FFA PORTA Alumni group. He was a strong advocate for agriculture, serving on several Farm Bureau advisory groups as well as President of the Menard County Farm Bureau. He also was a member of the Central Presbyterian Church where he served in many roles.
Services will be held on Sunday, September 5 at 1 p.m. at Wankel’s of Petersburg, 18239 Kelly Street, Petersburg. There will be a Celebration of Life directly following. The graveside service will be in between and reserved for immediate family and a select few. Arrangements are being handled by Hurley’s of Petersburg. Memorials may be made for the future education fund for his children.
     The IALF mourns the loss of such a great man taken from us too soon and wishes to express our deepest condolences to his family and all who knew him.

Please see the following link for Brian’s Obituary.
We Thank Our IALF Supporters 
2021 Torch of Leadership Award Winners
The purpose of the Torch of Leadership Award is to recognize alumni or significant friends of the IL Agricultural Leadership Program who have demonstrated exceptional leadership skills though personal commitment and service to agriculture in their occupation, community, government, or education. These contributions can be at a local, state, national or international level. An agribusiness professional and an ag producer are chosen by the selection committee, comprised of members of  the alumni board of directors. This year's winners were honored on Friday, August 20 at the CONNECT Alumni event. Congratulations to our winners! Shown counterclockwise: Former member of the IALF Board of Directors, John Huston; Wendell Shauman- Class of 1984 (producer); and Larry Fischer- Class of 1986 (agribusiness). 
Friday, August 20, the Alumni Board of Directors hosted the CONNECT Alumni Event at the Destihl Brewery in Normal. Guests enjoyed an opportunity to reunite with fellow alums as well as meet the Class of 2023, while enjoying dinner and drinks. The evening was capped off with the announcement and honoring of our Torch of Leadership Award winners. 
Top photos: Guests enjoy food and drinks in the Barrell room at DESTIHL. Bottom left: David Wirth (IALP '00) announces the nominees. Bottom right: Torch of Leadership Award nominees- Steve Pitstick (IALP '00), Larry Fischer (IALP '86), Allan Worrell (IALP '88), Wendell Shauman (IALP '84), and Jeff Adkisson (IALP '04). Not pictured-John Huston and Pete Pistorius (IALP '02).
Debi Thurow Recipient of the
IAPAL Program Support Award

Former Development Director, Debi Thurow, has been posthumously honored with the Program Support Award by the International Association of Programs for Agricultural Leadership (IAPAL). The committee cited Debi's selfless and exemplary work for the IALF in their decision to chose her as this year's recipient. 
Class of 2023 Joyce Watson Orientation Seminar
The Class of 2023 was finally able to meet in person and begin their journey through the Illinois Agricultural Leadership Program, with the Joyce Watson Leadership Orientation Seminar, held August 20th and 21st. During this seminar participants were able to explore leadership principles and characteristics, examine expectations placed on leaders and new standards to which they will be held, understand the importance of professional, timely, and meaningful communication and action, learn more about their themselves, their peers, and the breadth of the ag community, and learn what to expect during the program's 19 month curriculum. 
Day one of the orientation was held at the Double Tree in Bloomington. The day began with introductions, with both the staff and Class of 2023 given the opportunity to provide a brief introduction of themselves. The Class also was introduced to Joyce Watson, and heard presentations from IALF President Lee Strom, and Program Director Todd Lowery. Day two of orientation was held on the Illinois State University campus. The Class of 2023 enjoyed presentations from IALF Founder Joyce Watson (shown above), ISU President Dr. Terri Goss Kinzy, ISU Dept. of Ag Chair Dr. Fanson Kidwaro, and IALF Chairman Dan Kelley. 
On day two of the Joyce Watson Leadership Orientation Seminar, several members of the Class of 2023 shared more in-depth presentations about their lives and professions. Shown below are Shani Golovay and Brad Anderson. 
Class of 2023 Upcoming Seminars
  • Personal Leadership and Self Reflection Seminar

               November 28-30, 2021
             Kinderhook Lodge

  • Communication Excellence Seminar

               December 15-17, 2021
Enter for your chance to win a
John Deere X570 Lawn Tractor!

Don't miss your chance to win; purchase your raffle tickets today! Support
IALF and enter our annual raffle for your chance to win a
John Deere X570 Lawn Tractor!


1 ticket- $20.00 or 6 tickets for $100.00.
Enter Now!
Drawing will be held September 15, 2021.

Debi Thurow Memorial Scholarship Fund

We lost a dear friend and colleague in Debi Thurow. Debi was a dedicated member of the IALF staff for 12 years, but her impact on the foundation, and on all those that had the opportunity to know her, will carry on. She was passionate about her work with the foundation, most notably when it came to ensuring the success of the class members. Debi worked closely with each class member through the entirety of the program; from completing the application process to the graduation ceremony. 

To honor Debi, and her legacy of generosity and kindness, the IALF has established the
Debi Thurow Memorial Scholarship Fund for Participant Special Needs. The goal of the fund is to provide assistance to IALP participants requiring additional financial support due to extenuating circumstances while completing the program.  


To contribute to the Debi Thurow Memorial Scholarship Fund, please send a payment to:


PO Box 1368
Bloomington, IL 61702

You can also make a donation electronically:

Debi Thurow Memorial Fund
Learn more about alumni, news, events, and more by connecting with IALF!
Copyright © 2021 Illinois Agricultural Leadership Foundation, All rights reserved.