ADHS Newsletter December 9 2019
View this email in your browser

December 9 2019

Deakin Digest

Dear ADHS Community,
Farewell to the Year 10 Class of 2019
Our Year 10 students, along with graduating Woden School students, came together at the National Museum earlier this week to celebrate the culmination of four very special years at their respective schools. It is incredible to witness the transformation during the high school years, where young people arrive as children, fresh from primary school, and leave as young adults. At no time is this journey more apparent than at the Formal.  Year 10 2019 are an amazing group of young people who have contributed much to the culture of ADHS. I know all of our year 10 students and families will join with me in acknowledging the work of Mr. Dave Reeson and Ms. Rachel Burrage for the tremendous job they have done as Year Coordinators for this group. We are looking forward to the final farewell events scheduled later this week and the graduation ceremony next week for this special group of young people.
ADHS Yearbook 2019
On a similar note, could I acknowledge the considerable work that has gone into the creation of the ADHS Yearbook. Scott Calder has led a motivated group of young people to redesign the publication to focus on Year 10 content as a memento of their time at ADHS. It is an incredibly vibrant publication, which will be the source of lots of smiles and laughter for years to come. Thank you to the following students for their dedication.
Grace Bacon
Sophia Davidson
Erika De Donato
Spencer De Kievith
Jamila Emerson-Elliott
Mina Estock
Riley Ferguson
Aileen Khoo
Sarah Leonard
Liv Lewis
Angus Long
Cara McHenry
Fiona McMichael
Luella Phillips
Jilly Thirkell
Cassidy Thomson
Erin Wood
Staff Farewells
Thank you to the following teaching and admin staff who have given so much during their tenure at ADHS.  Some are transferring to new schools and some are moving on to the next adventure. We wish them all well. Please take time to thank them before they depart.
Jennifer Bodell
Michael Chun
Amy Diggelmann
Tyson Hodge
Brent Irvine
Jason Jin
Josh Stuckey 
Luke Williams     
Graduation Ceremony
The Alfred Deakin High School Year 10 Graduation Ceremony will be held on Wednesday 11th December at 4pm in the ADHS Gym. During the evening, we will recognise the sustained efforts of students over the last year, culminating in the award of a Year 10 Certificate.  All parents are welcome to attend to celebrate the achievement of ADHS students and a specific invitation will be sent to parents of students receiving an award. Students will be issued with a Year 10 Portfolio containing their Year 10 Certificate and attendance records. Semester 2 Student Reports will be emailed to parents on the afternoon of Wednesday 11th December.

Award Ceremonies for Year Groups
Recognition of student achievement is a high priority and we acknowledge this in a variety of ways throughout the year, including through year assemblies, reports in the Digest and recognition at full school assemblies. Year Award Ceremonies will be held on Thursday 12th and Friday 13th December during the day. Parents are welcome to attend these events at which students will be presented Personal Achievement, Academic Excellence Awards and Faculty Awards. The schedule of assemblies in the ADHS Gym is as follows:
Thursday 12th December
Year 7 Award Ceremony 10.05am          
Year 8 Award Ceremony 12.35pm
Friday 13th December
Year 9 Award Ceremony 10.05 am
Semester 2 Reports and attendance data for Year 7-9 students will be issued via email to parents/carers on Wednesday 18th December.
2020 Commencement Dates
Monday 3rd February
  • Year 7
  • Year 8, 9, 10 new students (10.00am – 12.00pm only)
Tuesday 4th February
  • All students
I will close my final Digest report for term 4 by wishing the entire ADHS community a safe and relaxing holiday period and by thanking each one of you for your contribution to making our school such a unique place. I look forward to working with you again in 2020.
Warm regards,
David Briggs


Events, resources and more

UPA Show
PE & School Sport Shirts
Community News
Nominations for School Board 2020
Dance Update
Unicorn Wrap Up
Japanese News
HaSS Electives Program
PE, Sports Review and House Report
Board Members
Julia Graczyk - Board Chair - 0400 374 085
Denis O'Dea - 0419 237 977
Anne Twyman - 0414 278 663 
Edeline Ohk | Charlotte Yeoh
Zoe Cole | Elizabeth Lorenz
David Briggs
Jenni Bodell & Kirsten Bedggood
Cover Design
Scott Calder
Tamara Hocking
Jackie Kaye
111 Denison Street
Deakin  ACT  2600 Australia
Phone (02) 6142 3888 Fax (02) 61423904

Unsubscribe from this list.
Alfred Deakin High School is built on the traditional lands of the Ngunnawal people.
We acknowledge the traditional custodians of this land and pay our respects to their elders, past, present and future.

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
High School · Denison Street · Deakin · Canberra, Act 2600 · Australia

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp